CSHS 2011 Awards (Joint Plant Canada meeting)

Dr. Davide Neri, Department of Environment and Crop Science, Universit� Politecnica delle Marche, 60131  Ancona, Italy (Invited Speaker; title: Berry production in forced culture) and Dr. Samir Debnath, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, St. Johnes, NL (Session Chair)



Dr. Ralph Martin, Organic Agriculture Centre of Canada, Founding Director, Nova Scotia Agricultural College, Truro, NS (Invited Speaker, title: Organic agriculture: contributions to sustainable horticulture) and Dr. Peter Hicklenton, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Kentville, NS (Session Chair) 


Dr. Jean-Pierre Privé, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Bouctouche, NB (Invited Speaker, title: Agro-ecosystem approach to understanding environmental stress in fruit and vegetable production)



CSHS Student Awards

The following are CSHS Students Awards 2011 winners.  The certificates have been mailed to them already. Each of them will receive $400.00.


1. First Best Oral Presentation
Katelyn Congreves
PO 766. Ridgetown, ON , N0P 2C0

 Title and authors:

Post-harvest organic carbon amendments to minimize mineral nitrogen loss es in cole crop production: in situ.

K. A. Congreves, R. P. Voroney, I. P. OHalloran and L. L. Van Eerd, School of Environmental Sciences, University of Guelph, 1Ridgetown Campus, Ridgetown, Ontario, Canada N0P 2C0, 2Guelph, Ontario, Canada N1G 2W1. Dr. Samir Debnath is presenting the award to Katelyn Congreves

2. Second Best Oral Presentation
Aitazaz Ahsan Farooque, 39 Cox Road, Engineering Department, Nova Scotia Agricultural College, Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada B2N 5E3.

 Title and authors:

Characterize and quantify soil variability to delineate management zones for variable rate fertilization in wild blueberry fields. A. A. Farooque, Q. U. Zaman, A. Madani, A. W. Schumann, D. C. Percival, T. J. Esau, F. S. Khan, S. R. Saleem, Y. K. Chang. NSAC, Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada B2N 5E3, Citrus Researches and Education Center, University of Florida, USA.

 Aitazaz Ahsan Farooque receiving the award from Dr. Samir Debnath

3. First Best Poster Presentation
Megan L.A. Fisher, B.Sc. (Hons.)
Graduate Researcher (Acadia University)
C/O. Dr. D. Mark Hodges
Atlantic Food and Horticulture Research Centre, AAFC
32 Main St., Kentville, Nova Scotia  B4N 1J5
megan.fisher@agr.gc.ca; 083465f@acadiau.ca  Telephone 902-679-5391

Title and authors:

Hydrogen peroxide treatment of fresh-cut spinach: potential for enhancement of shelf-life and microbiological safety. M. L. A. Fisher1,2*, D. M. Hodges2, G. S. Bezanson2 and D. N. Kristie1. 1Acadia University, Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada B4P 2R6, 2Atlantic Food and Horticulture Research Center, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada B4N 1J5.


Megan L.A. Fisher receives the award from Dr. Samir Debnath

4. Second Best Poster Presentation (No picture available)
Marta Piercey
Title and authors: Antimicrobial activity of encapsulated allyl isothiocyanate when applied in vitro and to packaged, fresh-cut onions. M. Piercey1, S.M. Budge1, G. Mazzanti1, P. Delaquis2, A.T. Paulson1 and L. Truelstrup Hansen1. 1Department of Process Engineering and Applied Science, Dalhousie University, NS, Canada; 2Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Summerland, BC, Canada.


 AIC International Recognition Award 2011

Doug Yungblut, Samir Debnath
Mary Ruth McDonald, Jose Owen










As announced in the June Monthly Report, the Canadian Society for Horticultural Science (CSHS) and the Ghana Institute of Horticulturists (GhIH) are recipients of the AIC International Recognition Award. The award was presented to CSHS representatives Samir Debnath, Jos�e Owen and Mary Ruth McDonald.