Canadian Society for Horticultural Science Awards - 2000

The Canadian Society for Horticultural Science honoured a number of horticulturists at the Awards Banquet during the Annual Conference held in Winnipeg, July 15-19, 2000 in conjunction with Agrifood 2000. Congratulations to all award winners for their contribution to horticulture in Canada!

Outstanding Individual Award
This award to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to horticulture was presented to Mr. Pete Peters. Mr. Peters worked for the Manitoba Department of Agriculture for 24 years as potato specialist and small fruit specialist before retiring in 1979. During this time he played a major role in helping to establish successful potato and small fruit production industries in the province. He also was a well known promoter of horticulture to gardening enthusiasts. He edited a book on the history of horticulture in Manitoba and has also published several volumes of poetry.

Outstanding Cultivar Award
This award was presented to the ‘Explorer" Rose breeding program of the Central Experimental Farm, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada in Ottawa and later at L'Assomption Experimental Farm in Quebec..

Honorary Life Member
This award was presented to Mr. Louis Lenz who taught landscape horticulture for 31 years in the Department of Plant Science, University of Manitoba and was widely recognized by the nursery and greenhouse industries and by gardening enthusiasts for his extensive knowledge of horticultural plants.

Outstanding Service Award
This was presented to Dr. Peter Hicklenton of the Agriculture and Agri-Food Research Station, Kentville, NS for his continuing commitment to the Canadian Society for Horticultural Science.

Publication Awards
These awards are for those horticulture papers published in the Canadian Journal of Plant Science in 1999.

C.J. Bishop Award (fruit crops)
J.M. Caprio and H.A. Quamme. Weather conditions associated with apple production in the Okanagan Valley of British Columbia. CJPS 79:129-137.

Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Growers Award (vegetable crops)
J. O'Sullivan, R.J. Thomas, and W.J. Bouw. Yield and injury effects on vegetable crops planted in flumetsulam-treated soil. CJPS 79:417-420.

Macoun-Hill Award (best overall horticulture paper) - includes a $250 prize and plaque) J.M. Caprio and H.A. Quamme. Weather conditions associated with apple production in the Okanagan Valley of British Columbia. CJPS 79:129-137.

Graduate Student Paper/Poster Awards
Certificates and cheques for $100 were presented to two individuals for their presentations at the CSHS Annual Conference: Javad Shaterian of the University of Saskatchewan for his paper co-authored with H. DeJong, and K. Tanino entitled Identifying key factors conferring salt tolerance in diploid potato genotypes; Valeri� Gu�rette of Laval University, St. Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec co-authored with C.B�lec and N. Tremblay entitled Apport azot� provenant de la min�ralisation des r�sidus de cultures mara�ch�res.

Thank you to Dr. Peter Hicklenton (Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Kentville, NS), Dr. Jennifer DeEll (Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, St. Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec), and Dr. Doug Waterer (University of Saskatchewan) for serving as the 2000 CSHS Publication Awards Committee. Also thank you to Dr. Calvin Chong (University of Guelph), Mr. Kevin Sanderson (Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Charlottetown, PEI), and Dr. J. P. Priv�, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Bouctouche, NB) for serving as the graduate student paper/poster Judging Committee.